When you have a target, and the aim is true, you will hit the mark.  The director of the play I just finished performing in offered me parts in both ‘Twelfth Night’ and ‘MacBeth’, without my needing to audition.  After first working with him last summer in ‘Much Ado About Nothing’ I took the time to send a Thank You card following the final show.  Since then, in addition to his recent offers, he has cast me as a lead role and a few supporting roles in his productions.  By recognizing an opportunity to express gratitude, I strengthened a relationship and established myself as an appreciative actress interested in working with him again.

My ambition has been to achieve larger roles and work regularly while getting paid within the field of acting, in turn generating favorable circumstances to practice marketing and networking.  A few weeks ago I invited three newspapers to the most recent play.  This was the first step (after researching and calling to generate contact information) in establishing a relationship. Whether they showed-up this time or not, I have taken steps, with follow through, to grow a friendly working rapport.  In the near future I will compose another e-mail welcoming their attendance at each of the Shakespeare month long runs in July and August, with an extra line or two expressing interest in their current work, moving me one more notch above a ‘never heard of’.  Expanding the list to include three additional newspapers with each production, to make a total of nine writers I consistently contact professionally, will surely increase my chances of a favorable review in at least one periodical.

Truly, I admire writers, anyone living creatively really.  Having written and loved poetry since childhood, to be paid to write- songs, articles, greeting cards- is a chance I would hop on in a heartbeat.  Life can be perceived as random and less than envisioned.  However, each moment prepares us to live more fully, each day presents a chance to create the destined dream.  Make a S.M.A.R.T. plan, devoting one hour everyday to your objective, for, with perseverance passion can be made a paid reality.

