I am in a Shakespeare state-of-mind.  Have you ever AllMyHairstudied a language and begun thinking or dreaming in that other tongue?  The month of August I will play Ophelia in Hamlet, and as the theater desires everyone off-book [to know all their lines] when rehearsals begin the first of July, all parts were bequeathed at the beginning of the year.  Also, it helps I teach acting at the venue producing the play- The Rose Theater (visit their site: TheStageAwaits.com).  Having so much topsy-turveyness in life, my personality is one where I sat down in January to precisely determine how many scenes this character will perform.  As it turns out, Ophelia has lines in six scenes, a convenient number considering the months until we begin working out the blocking [where/on which line you move to/enter/exit the stage].

From these two numbers- six scenes and six months- memorizing dialogue for one scene each month develops an easily digestible task.  My memorization skills are average, thus being not blessed with a photographic memory, or a quick conversion rate from short to long term recollection- I have multiple mechanisms utilized to retain verbose narrations.  A prior post (Play: Within the Lines) goes into detail, however, I … lied, admitting to write a half dozen times, alas- the truth is ten.  Yes, that is correct, I write all my character’s dialogue an even ten times to secure those utterances into my noggin.  Regardless if it seems me a dolt, this is what I have learned my dyslexic brain likes: it slows me down and repetition is the mother of…  I don’t know, something (SKILL; I looked it up!).

Creating a sense of security within the chaos that is Life, can provide necessary comfort.  That being said- the theater presenting Shakespeare’s most popular tragedy has set a goal to raise $1,500 for the building of proper sets and toward more realistic costumes (straight-jackets are difficult to come by at the thrift stores).  Please support in this artistic endeavor any manner you feel comfortable, whether sharing the link or a $10 contribution via IndieGoGO with worthwhile incentives.  All aide is supremely appreciated by this not-for-profit stage, and yours truly.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Twitter

Facebook  please ‘Like’ the fan page– I reciprocate

www.KatrinaPerkins.com  check out my IMDB link

Instagram see my world on KatrinaPerkinsTV

 
