While it is nice to work on eyeballs, as an opthalmic technician, Katrina PerkinsI am regularly reminded by octogenarians how the “golden years” are not worth it.  The ‘convenience’ of working at the MD office affords me the ability to pay for my car, while the remainder of my bills- I manage to pay for all through the beauty and blessing of acting.  I am proud my professional network and social sites continue to grow, and most importantly my circle of work continues to pull in women writers creating strong female characters.  It is curious to me how I wished and yearned to work with empowered women, both in play and in a working relationship, and the Universal energy that is always spinning in our best interest brought them to me, or me to them.

‘In Our Own Voice’ is a play about women veterans and their personal experience throughout enlistment, deployment, and eventually coming home.  The relationships between leaders, teammates, family and civilians- we may have an idea, but this play was drawn out of actual group therapy sessions and individual interviews with women veterans.  I have learned a great deal, the tough facade I place upon military personnel is only a part of them- everyone still has feelings, even when they have been taught and practiced not to for the sake of safety.  The single biggest honor of my acting career thus far was performing this piece last year at the Veterans Association in front of a crowd of brave humans.

Since that date, we have brought the show to a library, where it was equally well received.  The end of this month, into the beginning of July, including a performance ON my Dad’s birthday, will bring us to a festival in Manhattan.  MY FIRST MANHATTAN PERFORMANCE! Rehearsing this play again with my adoptive ‘sisters’ is a wonderful joy, full of energy.  My Dad was a Marine Drill Instructor and I am privileged to have him always in my heart, most especially during this exciting time.  The gift that keeps on giving, and a new monologue has even grown out it for this newest rendition.  Lucky me!!

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

www.KatrinaPerkins.com

