Katrina PerkinsToday, I am focusing on consciously improving a lite New York accent. Listening to a CD from Sam French respected dialect coach, David Allan Stern, I can feel the genuine brawl beginning to shape itself in my mouth, specifically in front of the lower lip, once more. In rehearsals a few weeks ago, I kinda threw the accent out there playfully, to try it on for one of the segments in a play we have already successfully performed twice.  This was one of those happenstance moments with the other actresses went with the moment and threw it right back at me and the director loved it!  The PLAY of rehearsals, the discovery of a new moment, action, or accent thrills!

In this play it is especially important to make distinct choices, because four actresses are representing 25 Veteran soldiers.  (We each voice at least six women with only our physical instrument to make them clearly unique.)  To make it easier on the audience to differentiate and remember every time I open my mouth I may not be the same voice/person I spoke from previously, I found it helpful from the beginning to give one character a Southern accent. The dialogue almost required it, though the author did not state it: she calls her granddaddy Popop.  It is always important to make choices specific, and even more so without costume changes to make a character change clear.  I am also working ways to create individual posture, and have named several segments: Maria, Jordan, Priscilla, Tori, Abra, etc.

As we continue to rehearse I become more excited for the Planet Connections Festival.  After attending a gala last night which commenced the opening, I understand the backbone of this event is one of preventing censorship- in all it’s forms.  “In Our Own Voice”, certainly says truths I never fathomed the depths of until experiencing these brave women’s words.  War is a mean variant of life I avoid wrapping my head around- I feel so cowardly and helpless.  I once believed I was doing a kindness by thanking Veterans for their service to protect my freedom.  This scratch-the-surface-understanding has since deepened.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

http://www.KatrinaPerkins.com

