Katrina PerkinsAn “unlimited” monthly pass to the Yoga studio around the corner has inspired more and deeper breathing in me.  Normally (realistically) this is not in my budget, yet the festival I am performing in deserves to showcase me at my most relaxed and focused.  My usual practice includes Yoga DVDs, and honestly, lacks consistency, because although it should be as simple as roll out a yoga mat and start stretching, somehow the act of vacuuming impedes my dedication.  Perfectionism gets in my way.  Things needing to be just so holds me back from doing things that are just enough.

When I took acting classes with D.W. Brown at the Baron/Brown Studio in Santa Monica, California, I came to realize by carving out time to practice an hour of Yoga prior, the scenes I was in were more consistently in the moment and relaxed.  Coincidence (noun) = a striking occurrence of two or more events at one time apparently by mere chance.  “Apparently” is the optimum word. One moment affects the next, and so on throughout existence.  I certainly feel more clear and focused, and certainly breathing more since last Monday when I began ‘knocking myself out’ with unlimited Yoga – up to number five today!

Friday, I did a headstand.  Technically, I did two headstands, because I fell out of the first, very brief, one and while others in the class were still in their pose (one person in Headstand 2!! – a variation on the already challenging) I had enough time to attempt a second.  I had more difficulty getting back into the headstand the second go, because, as the instructor said, I was too excited. “Take a breath, calm down, focus” and up I went.  One might think a strong head is required for this pose, however, as I learned a strong core is necessary, and today (I did another headstand AND this time held it for even longer!) I realized strength in the shoulders helps, too, because that is truly where the weight is placed.  NOW, off to Tech Rehearsal for opening night Wednesday!

May you feel beautiful, listen lovingly, and be determined!

“The Light in me bows to the Light in you.”

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

www.KatrinaPerkins.com

